Archivalista
Nov 21, 2021

Lonesome west

I don’t know if there is a more lonely and lovely place than Mono Lake. Its almost dead and only briny shrimp live in the salt waters. An endangered heron nested in a dead tree beyond the shore. The memories that I access through my own vision, they are still sharp. I was building a narrative. I created a feminist revisioning of Helen, as others have done. But this was in the wild west, and it was a fragile vision, but still beautiful. It was enough. They were the seeds of my freedom, which I watered in my mind. They were my visions, my dreams. As I gave them form I began to see the contrast to the world I had adapted myself to … and it took many years to even partially reconcile all of that.

Archivalista

Exploratory mystical verbal visual expression. Even if you feel like you are speaking to the choir or hearing crickets, there is power in expressing your truth.